Skip to main contentSkip to footer content

The purpose of this committee is to evaluate and make recommendations on matters related to the credit and non-credit curriculum. Course and program additions, deletions, or significant changes or program requirements or in course outlines must be acted upon by this committee. Meeting dates are subject to change when necessary.

VOTING MEMBERS:

Faculty Representatives:

  • AS Faculty Representatives
  • Division Representatives, Faculty Chairs
  • Articulation Officer
  • Curriculum Committee Faculty Co-Chair (votes only in the event of a tie)

Classified Representative:

  • Curriculum Analyst

Student Representative:

  • Student (appointed by the Associated Student Body of Napa Valley College)

NONVOTING MEMBERS:

  • Curriculum Committee Administrative Co-Chair (VPAA)
  • Academic Deans (as determined by the Administrative Co-Chair)
  • Ad Hoc Academic Senate Representative
Curriculum Committee Membership 2022-2023

Faculty

 

Contact

Seth Anderson

Curriculum Committee Faculty Co-Chair

seth.anderson@napavalley.edu

Rhue Bruggeman Faculty Representative for Arts and Humanities rbruggeman@napavalley.edu

Shawna Bynum

Faculty Representative for Mathematics sbynum@napavalley.edu
Naomi Chianese Faculty Representative for Social Sciences nchianese@napavalley.edu

Bob Freschi

Faculty Representative for Kinesiology

bfreschi@napavalley.edu

Paul Gospodarczyk

Faculty Representative for Career Education pgospodarczyk@napavalley.edu
Josh Hanson Faculty Representative for Science & Engineering jhanson@napavalleu.edu

Stacey Howard

Articulation Officer

showard@napavalley.edu

Brian Larsen Ad Hoc Senate Representative brlarsen@napavalley.edu
Karen Larsen Faculty Representative for English klarsen@napavalley.edu
Ida Logan Faculty Representative for Health Occupations ida.logan@napavalley.edu

Tia Madison

Faculty Representative for Language Arts and Development Studies

tmadison@napavalley.edu

Eric Martinez

Faculty Representative for Counseling

emartinez@napavalley.edu
Nancy McEnery Faculty Librarian nmcenery@napavalley.edu

Administrative

Division

 

Robert Harris

Curriculum Committee Administrative Co-Chair Acting VPAA and Senior Dean of Health and Safety

rharris@napavalley.edu

Jerry Dunlap Associate Dean of Kinesiology, Athletics and Dance jdunlap@napavalley.edu
Douglas Marriott Senior Dean of Career Education and Workforce Development and Social Sciences douglas.marriott@napavalley.edu
Shawntel Ridgle Director of Continuing and Community Education shawntel.ridgle@napavalley.edu
Robert Van der Velde Senior Dean of Arts, Sciences, and Languge Arts robert.vandervelde@napavalley.edu
Classified Department  

Katherine Rhyno

Curriculum Analyst

krhyno@napavalley.edu

Student

   
Arcie Alvarado

ASNVC Student Representative

ec.asnvc@napavalley.edu

Fall 2022 Support Materials
FALL 2022 CURRICULUM COMMITTEE MEETING SCHEDULE

The committee meets from 9-10:30am on the following Fridays:
August 19
September 2, 16
October 7, 21
November 18
December 2

Meetings via Zoom

 

November 18

Agenda

October 21

Agenda

October 7

Agenda
GE Subcommittee - September 21
11:00 a.m. - noon

Agenda

September 16

Agenda
September 2

Agenda

August 19


Agenda


Spring 2022


Support Materials
May 6

Agenda
April 29

Agenda


April 1

Agenda
March 18

Agenda

March 4

Agenda



February 4

Agenda



Fall 2021

Support Materials
December 3

Agenda

Approved Minutes
November 19

Agenda

Approved Minutes
November 5

Agenda

Approved Minutes
October 15

Agenda

Approved Minutes

October 1

Agenda

Approved Minutes
September 24 (Special Meeting)

Agenda

Approved Minutes
 
September 17

Agenda

Approved Minutes

September 3

Agenda

Approved Minutes

August 20


Agenda

Approved Minutes
August 11

Agenda

Approved Minutes

Spring 2021

Support Materials

May 7

Agenda

Approved Minutes


April 16

Agenda

Approved Minutes
March 19

Agenda

Approved Minutes
March 5

Agenda

Approved Minutes

February 19

Agenda

Approved Minutes


February 5


Agenda

Approved Minutes
 
January 29

Agenda

Approved Minutes (with added appendix)

Fall 2020

Support Materials

December 4

Agenda

Approved Minutes

 

Topic: Curriculum Committee Meeting Date: Dec 4, 2020 04:42 PM Universal Time UTC
Recording of December 4th Meeting
November 20

Agenda   Approved Minutes
November 6

Agenda

Approved Minutes
October 30

This meeting was cancelled.
 
October 16
Agenda

Approved Minutes
 
September 18

Agenda

Approved Minutes
September 4

Agenda

Approved Minutes
August 21

Agenda

Approved Minutes

Introduction: Mission Statements

Chapter One: Authority

  • Title 5 and Board Policy
  • Role of Curriculum Committee

Chapter Two: Roles and Responsibilities of Committee Members

Chapter Three: Standing Rules and Procedures

  • Membership
  • Agendas
  • Parliamentary Rules
  • Subcommittees

Chapter Four: The Curriculum Approval Process

  • Committee Timelines
  • Course Approval Process
  • Substantive vs. Non-Substantive Modifications
  • Discipline Placement Process
  • Program Approval Process
  • Course and Program Archival Process
  • New Program and Program Archival Taskforces

Chapter Five: Criteria and Standards for Approval

  • Development Criteria
  • Standards for Course Approval
  • Degrees and Certificates
  • Distance Education Definitions and Standards

Chapter Six: The Course Outline of Record

  • Purpose of the Course Outline of Record
  • Required Components
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the COR
  • Writing Standards and Guidelines

Chapter Seven: General Education Requirements (Old)

  • NVC General Education
  • CSU General Education
  • IGETC

Chapter Eight: Forms and Resources (Old)

  • Blooms Taxonomy
  • Unit/Hour Formulas
  • Course Numbering System
  • Resources from the State Academic Senate and System Office
  • CTE Program Proposal Forms and Processes
  • SAM Code Definitions
  • Model Course Outlines of Record

Chapter Nine: Board of Governors Disciplines List (Old)

  • Disciplines Requiring a Master's Degree
  • Disciplines Not Requiring a Master's Degree